Pahangin sa Anawangin

My girlfriend told me that she wanted to relax, go to a beach and have some fun to take the stress from work away. But as a student, I dont really have the financial income to take her to a fancy resort. So i told her i have a surprise for her for the weekend that im sure she will enjoy. I started by booking us a bus ride to San Antonio Zambales on a saturday morning, using my student ID ofcourse for a discount :). took us about 3 and half hours ride to get there. Then called a tricycle to take us to Pundaquit to a man I meet last year (who i called the night before) for a boat ride to Anawangin cove. While in the boat a view of Anawangin with Pine trees, white sand, and Mt. Pundaquit sorrounding the cove in its background make my girlfriend smile and say “wow! ang ganda babe”.When we arrived there, I started to set our tent then cook breakfast for the both of us while she was sitting on the sand and enjoying the view. We explore the cove, swim at the beach and I can see her really happy and stress free. We were supposed to go to Capones Island for more exploration as negotiated by me and the mr Resty (the boat man) but to our dismay, the waves were too high and dangerous so we agreed to cancel going there. On the bus ride home, my gf hug me and thanked me then told me that it was the best adventure she did so far and she’s excited for the next one. We didn’t spend the night there because i told her parents that i will bring her home that same day.

You can also try what my friends and I did last year, we trekked Mt. Pundaquit to Anawangin Cove then stayed there and explore. Then boat ride to Capones Island. Explore the light house there, swim (you can also do snorkling there), then back to Pundaquit. But I will suggest a 2 day trip specially if you have a beginner in trekking tag along with you.

Estimated budget: 1200-1500 pesos (each)

Itinerary for day trip only
0500 – ETD from Victory Liner Pasay terminal (Bus going to Iba Zambales)
0830 – ETA Brgy. San Antonio (take tricycle from there)
0900 – ETA Pundaquit (Ride a boat from there)
0930 – ETA Anawangin Cove

Set camp, explore, social, swim etc.

1200 – Lunch
1400 – ETD from Anawangin to Capones Island
1600 – ETA to Pundaquit (take tric back to San Antonio then bus to Cubao)

Itinerary for overnight
Day 1
2330 – ETD from Victory Liner Pasay terminal (Bus going to Iba Zambales)
0300 – ETA Brgy. San Antonio (take tricycle from there)
0330 – ETA to Pundaquit, negotiate boat ride ang guide.
0400 – Start Trek
0600 – ETA Mt. Pundaquit Summit
0800 – ETA Anawangin Cove

Set camp, explore, social, swim etc.

Day 2
0900 – Breakfast
1100 – ETD from Anawangin to Capones Island
0100 – ETA to Pundaquit (take tric back to San Antonio then bus to Cubao)

Special Concerns:
Accidents have benn avoided due to recklessness of the swimmer. So always be cautious and never ever underestimate a mountain or mother nature

Take nothing but pictures
Leave nothing but footprints
Kill nothing but time

Leave a comment